Our source

Why drink from the well

Every year albatrosses and seabirds die from swallowing plastic caps caught with their beaks in the Pacific. The hotel provides a stainless steel water bottle that can be filled up at the fountain at the reception. Christian Witzig, hotel director: "It was Mathias Mend, the founder of Vortex Power, who opened my eyes. When I was attending a conference in Ascona, he pointed out to me how much oil I was using with my 'pet bottles'.

One and a half decilitres for each 1-litre bottle of water filled in Switzerland; 3.1 dl for the water coming from the European Union, taking into account the raw material used to produce the plastic and the transport by road to our homes: compared to 0.003 dl of oil for tap water. For each person who now drinks only from the tap, the saving would be equivalent to 2,000 kilometres travelled by car.

Every customer receives a water bottle that they can fill up during their stay and buy for 25 francs when they leave.

Where does the tap water flow to?

In the worst case, therefore, the expense remains insignificant. Those who drink from the tap pay a thousand times less: even though in Ticino so far only 2 litres of tap water per day and person end up in dishes and glasses. According to the Dipartimento del territorio, Sezione della protezione dell'aria, dell'acqua e del suolo, the average per capita consumption of households is 242 litres per day and inhabitant. This is 57 litres more than the Swiss average (185 litres), but significantly less than in the past. In 2002, peak values of 530 litres were even reached, according to tables compiled by the Observatory for Spatial Development: today, consumption has become more sustainable, "thanks to improved infrastructures and a more rational use of water". 29 % end up in the toilet, 19.6 % in the bathtub or shower, 18.6 % in the washing machine, 17 % are used for cooking, drinking or washing dishes by hand; 12.8 % are used for personal hygiene and hand washing, 2.2 % for dishwashing, 2.3 % for garden watering and other purposes.

More articles

Notre source

Pourquoi boire à la fontaine

Chaque année, des albatros et des oiseaux marins meurent en avalant des bouchons en plastique qu'ils ont attrapés avec leur bec dans l'océan Pacifique. L'hôtel met à disposition une bouteille d'eau en acier inoxydable qui peut être remplie à la fontaine de la réception. Christian Witzig, directeur de l'hôtel : "C'est Mathias Mend, le fondateur de Vortex Power, qui m'a ouvert les yeux. Alors que je participais à une conférence à Ascona, il m'a fait remarquer la quantité de pétrole que je consommais avec mes "bouteilles en PET".

Un décilitre et demi pour chaque bouteille d'eau d'un litre embouteillée en Suisse ; 3,1 dl pour l'eau provenant de l'Union européenne, si l'on tient compte de la matière première utilisée pour la fabrication du plastique et du transport par la route jusqu'à nos maisons : en comparaison, 0,003 dl de pétrole pour l'eau du robinet. Pour chaque personne qui ne boit plus qu'au robinet, l'économie serait équivalente à 2.000 kilomètres parcourus en voiture.

Chaque client reçoit une bouteille d'eau qu'il peut remplir pendant son séjour et qu'il peut acheter à son départ pour 25 francs.

Où s'écoule l'eau du robinet ?

Dans le pire des cas, la dépense reste donc insignifiante. Celui qui boit au robinet paie mille fois moins : même si, jusqu'à présent, seuls deux litres d'eau du robinet par jour et par personne finissent dans la vaisselle et les verres au Tessin. Selon les données du Dipartimento del territorio, Sezione della protezione dell'aria, dell'acqua e del suolo, la consommation moyenne des ménages par personne est de 242 litres par jour et par habitant. C'est 57 litres de plus que la moyenne suisse (185 litres), mais nettement moins qu'auparavant. En 2002, des pics de 530 litres ont même été atteints, comme le montrent les tableaux établis par l'Observatoire du développement territorial : aujourd'hui, la consommation est devenue plus durable, "grâce à l'amélioration des infrastructures et à une utilisation plus rationnelle de l'eau". 29 % finissent dans les toilettes, 19,6 % dans la baignoire ou la douche, 18,6 % dans la machine à laver, 17 % sont utilisés pour cuisiner, boire ou faire la vaisselle à la main ; 12,8 % sont consacrés à l'hygiène corporelle et au lavage des mains, 2,2 % au lave-vaisselle, 2,3 % à l'arrosage du jardin et à d'autres usages.

Plus d'articles